Central Connecticut State University Athletics #GOBLUEDEVILS

Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

McLaughlin Named to Women's Soccer Hermann Trophy Watch List

McLaughlin Named to Women's Soccer Hermann Trophy Watch List

Junior midfielder Roma McLaughlin was named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List it was announced on Thursday. McLaughlin is among a total of 41 of the players on the list to have earned previous All-America recognition from United Soccer Coaches.

The Hermann Trophy, presented annually by the Missouri Athletic Club, is the nation's highest individual honor recognizing the nation's National Player of the Year as determined by the voting of Division I coaches who are members of United Soccer Coaches.


McLaughlin earned All-America honors for the second straight season in the 2021 spring season after being named to the United Soccer Coaches All-America Third Team. The standout midfielder has helped CCSU win three straight Northeast Conference championships. McLaughlin tallied 10 points and scored four goals in the shortened 2021 spring season. In the team's first game, the Greencastle County Donegal, Ireland native set the tone scoring a goal and adding an assist in a 4-0 victory. The junior then scored a goal in back to back games at Wagner and versus Bryant, leading the Blue Devils to an undefeated regular season at 6-0.

In 44 career matches she has tallied 16 goals and 10 assists. A three-time All-NEC choice, she is a two-time NEC Midfielder of the Year and the 2018 NEC Rookie of the Year.

Fifteen players become Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Nov. 30 following completion of Division I All-America voting following the fall season. Then on Dec. 8, the top three players from a final round of voting are the 2021 finalists. The 2021 winner is revealed on Jan. 7, 2022, at a ceremony at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.

Central opens the 2021 season at UConn on Saturday evening.




(860) 832-BLUE

Privacy Policy